You are here : Home > County Offices > Justice of the Peace

Esmeralda County Justice Court


Elected Official/Department Head

Judge Danielle Johnson, Justice of the Peace 

Contacts

Esmeralda Township Justice Court 
Judge Danielle Johnson, Justice of the Peace
PO Box 370
Goldfield, NV 89013
jp@esmeraldacountynv.org
Phone: 775-485-6359
Fax: 775-485-3462

IF YOU ATTEMPT TO CONTACT THE COURT, AND GET THE VOICEMAIL SYSTEM. LEAVE A MESSAGE AND WE WILL RETURN YOUR PHONE CALL. PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT OTHER OFFICES BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT GET PAST THE VOICEMAIL SYSTEM, LEAVE A MESSAGE. WE CHECK MESSAGES OFTEN DURING THE DAY AND RETURN PHONE CALLS USUALLY THE SAME BUSINESS DAY. 

MOST CITATIONS ARE DUE ON MONDAY, IF YOU ATTEMPT TO CALL TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENT ON MONDAY, YOU MAY NOT BE ABLE TO GET THROUGH. LEAVE A MESSAGE OR CALL BACK ON TUESDAY! 

 
MAILING ADDRESS:                                                                                                            PHONE: (775) 485-6359
      P.O. BOX 370                                                                                                                  FAX:  (775) 485-3462
      Goldfield Nevada 89013                                                                                                  EMAIL: jp@esmeraldacountynv.org
 
UPS or FedEx Delivery:
    403 Crook Avenue
    Goldfield Nevada 89013        
 
 -          Answers to some or all of your questions regarding the citation you have been issued together with court procedures and options:
 TO CONTEST THE CITATION AND REQUEST A TRIAL
                REMIT TOTAL BAIL AMOUNT indicated in the middle of the citation, right below violations, on or before your due date. Include a short note that you are pleading not guilty, include your phone number, return address and your citation number. You will receive a NOTICE OF TRIAL by certified mail within five (5) days after the court has received your bail and request.
 PAYMENT PLANS
                If you are not contesting the citation and are unable to remit the full amount of the fine/assessment by the due date YOU MUST CONTACT the court prior to your due date to arrange payments. 
 AVAILABLE PAYMENT OPTIONS
                Remit cashier’s check or money order made payable to JUSTICE COURT. Print your name, address and citation number clearly on your remittance so it can be applied to your account.
               Call the court to make a payment by Credit or debit card. Be advised the Court charges a 3% fee for using a card to pay a citation.
 -          Cited for DRIVER’S LICENSE, INSURANCE or REGISTRATION NOT IN POSSESSION? For dismissal of that violation simply provide the Court with a copy of any of those documents that were valid ON THE DATE THE CITATION WAS ISSUED.
 TRAFFIC SCHOOL: SEE ATTACHED INFORMATION
                 Nevada is a member of the Non-Resident Violator’s Compact. If you fail to post bail, appear in Court or remit a payment by the due date, your driving privilege will be suspended, a $300.00 bench warrant will be issued and the warrant will be forwarded to a collection agency which will effect your credit history and a 20% collection fee will be added to your account.

 THE OPTIONS OFFERED BY THIS COURT TO AMEND MOVING VIOLATIONS:
                (NRS 484B.617 “rural speed” is not a moving violation)
 -          Speeding 6 to 15 mph over the posted limit; the fine/assessment is increased to $320.00. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to NRS 484D.115, “tail lamps required”, a non moving violation
  • if cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $420.00 and traffic school is MANDATORY.
-          Speeding 16 to 25 mph over the posted limit; the fine/assessment is increased to $420.00. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to NRS 484D.115, “tail lamps required”, a non moving violation
  • If cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $520.00 and traffic school is MANDATORY.
-          Speeding 26 to 35 mph over the posted limit; the fine/assessment is increased to $640 and a traffic school certificate of completion is required. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to a one (1) point violation.
  • If cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $740 and a traffic school IS MANDATORY.
  • -          Speeding 36 mph or more over the posted limit; the fine/assessment is increased to $940 and a traffic school certificate of completion is required. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to a one (1) point violation.
  • If cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $1,040 and a traffic school is MANDATORY
-          Passing in a no passing zone or passing with insufficient clearance, the fine/assessment is increased to $420.00. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to NRS 484D.115, “tail lamps required”, a non moving violation.
  • If cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $520 and traffic school is MANDATORY
-          Following too close or Fail to stop at sign (4) points, the fine/assessment is increased to $320 and traffic school is MANDATORY. Upon receipt of the foregoing the violation will be amended to a one (1) point violation.
  • If cited in the construction zone the fine is increased to $420 and traffic school is MANDATORY
-          Reckless driving; the fine/assessment is increased to $1,140 and traffic school certificate of completion is required to amend the eight (8) point violation to a two (2) point violation.
  • If cited in the construction zone and you are pleading not guilty a trial will be scheduled at which time you will appear with counsel to present your defense, no other option offered.
The applicable increased fine/assessment is payable in two equal installments, the first is due on or before the due date listed by the officer and the balance, together with certificate is due 30 days later.

Traffic school many be completed in person or on line with any school licensed in your home state.

To pay a citation, please send a cashier's check or money order endorsed to Justice Court to the address above OR
YOU MAY CALL THE COURT AND MAKE A PAYMENT BY PHONE WITH A VISA/MASTERCARD/DISCOVER, please be advised any credit or debit card transaction will be charged a 3% convenience fee. Please make sure that your name, citation number and return address are legible.

Services

Justice of the Peace/Justice Court

The Justice of the Peace is required to preside over a variety of hearings, including preliminary examinations in felony and gross misdemeanor cases, trials for misdemeanor criminal matters, as well as, traffic violations, formal civil suits, small claims actions, temporary restraining order hearings, and landlord/tenant hearings.  In addition, the judge performs marriage ceremonies, and is subject to call out at all hours of the day and night to issue search and arrest warrants.

The Justice Court's staff currently consists of one full time clerk.   The clerk is charged with the responsibility of filing, processing and tracking all of the cases that are filed with the court each year, along with time spent in court each day during arraignments, hearings and trials. In addition, much time is spent assisting the public with such things as assisting in filling out forms and notary services.   All of this is in addition to the daily, weekly, and monthly administrative duties.  It is the goal of this court to perform all of these tasks in a timely and efficient manner.

It is the continued mission of the Esmeralda Township Justice Court to provide a quality and professional judicial institution for all the people of Esmeralda County, by the just application of the laws and ordinances which govern this jurisdiction.

Juvenile Master/Justice of the Peace


The Juvenile Master deals with charges pertaining to criminal offenses committed by persons under the age of 18 and works closely with the Juvenile Probation Department in handling these cases.  The juvenile division also deals with cases where a person under 18 requires certification as an adult so that the individual may be treated as an adult in District Court.  The Juvenile Master also hears Department of Child and Family Service matters that come before the court.

Esmeralda Township Justice Court Fee Schedule:

Civil: 

 NRS 4.060  Fees for justice of the peace; disposition.
      1.  Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 33.017 to 33.100, inclusive, each justice of the peace shall charge and collect the following fees:
     (a) On the commencement of any action or proceeding in the justice court, other than in actions commenced pursuant to chapter 73 of NRS, to be paid by the party commencing the action:
 If the sum claimed does not exceed $2,500........................................ $50.00*
 If the sum claimed exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000........... $100.00*
If the sum claimed exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000........... $175.00*
If the sum claimed exceeds $10,000 but does not exceed $15,000..........$250.00
In all other civil actions....................................................................$50.00*
In a civil action for unlawful detainer pursuant to NRS 40.290 to 40.420, inclusive, in which a notice to quit has been served pursuant to NRS 40.255...........$225.00*
       (b) For the preparation and filing of an affidavit and order in an action commenced pursuant to chapter 73 of NRS:
 If the sum claimed does not exceed $1,000........................................ $45.00*
If the sum claimed exceeds $1,000 but does not exceed $2,500..............$65.00*
If the sum claimed exceeds $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000..............$85.00*
If the sum claimed exceeds $5,000 but does not exceed $7,500……….......$125.00*
If the sum claimed exceed $7,500 but does not exceed $10,000............$175.00 *
      (c) On the appearance of any defendant, or any number of defendants answering jointly, to be paid by the defendant or defendants on filing the first paper in the action, or at the time of appearance:
In all civil actions...........................................................................$50.00*
For every additional defendant, appearing separately............................$25.00*
      (d) No fee may be charged where a defendant or defendants appear in response to an affidavit and order issued pursuant to the provisions of chapter 73 of NRS.
      (e) For the filing of any paper intervention................................... $25.00*
      (f) For the issuance of any writ of attachment, writ of garnishment, writ of execution or any other writ designed to enforce any judgment of the court...........................................................................................$25.00*                                                                             
(g) For the issuance of any writ of Restitution.....................................$75.00*
(h) For filing a notice of appeal, and appeal bonds............................... $25.00*
     One charge only may be made if both papers are filed at the same time.
      (i) For issuing supersedeas to a writ designed to enforce a judgment or order of the court..................................................................................$25.00*
      (j) For preparation and transmittal of transcript and papers on appeal........ .................................................................................$25.00
      (k) For celebrating a marriage and returning the certificate to the county recorder or county clerk....................................................              $75.00
      (l) For entering judgment by confession....................................... $50.00*
      (m) For preparing any copy of any record, proceeding or paper, for each page............................................................................................$00.50
      (n) For each certificate of the clerk, under the seal of the court...... $ 3.00
      (o) For searching records or files in his or her office, for each year... $ 1.00
      (p) For filing and acting upon each bail or property bond................. $50.00
   NRS 4.065  Additional fees: Imposition; disposition of proceeds.
  *    1.  The justice of the peace shall, on the commencement of any action or proceeding in the justice court for which a fee is required, and on the answer or appearance of any defendant in any such action or proceeding for which a fee is required, charge and collect a fee of $1 from the party commencing, answering or appearing in the action or proceeding. These fees are in addition to any other fee required by law.
Miscellaneous Fees: 
Credit Card Convenience Fee:             3% of total payment per transaction 
Payment Plan Set up Fee:         $75.00 
FTA warrant fee:                        $300.00
FTC warrant fee:                        $300.00
Record search:                           $1.00 per person, per year   fax your request to 775-485-3462 
Copies:                                          .50 per page
Certified copies:                          $3.00 per certification 
Postage:                                     $6.11 or current USPS rate for CMRR mailing
NSF fee:                                     $25.00 per occurrence 
Marriage fee:                              $75.00 (cash only)
Bond fee:                                   $50.00
Notary (acknowledgement)         $ 5.00 first signature, each signature on add'l docs $2.50